What if Pastoring Looked Like This?

   

Written by:

The following are quotes from page 278 in Eugene Peterson’s memoir The Pastor. It is everything I’ve thought but never said, including much that I didn’t know how to put in words. After 50 years in ministry I guess one finds the words. This is Eugene responding to his elders’ question, “So what do you want to do?” Eugene had walked into the elders’ meeting that night to resign after 3 years in ministry. He felt it necessary because he had been in meeting upon meeting and didn’t feel like he had time to read a story to his daughter. “So what do you want to do?”

“I want to be a pastor who prays. I want to be reflective and responsive and relaxed in the presence of God so that I can be reflective and responsive and relaxed in your [the elders and congregation’s] presence…I can’t do that on the run…I feel too crowded.”

“I want to be a pastor who reads and studies. This culture in which we live squeezes all the God sense out of us. I want to be observant and informed enough to help this congregation understand what we are up against, the temptations of the devil to get us thinking we can all be our own gods…It demands some detachment and perspective.”

“I want to be a pastor who has the time to be with you in leisurely, unhurried conversations so that I can understand and be a companion with you as you grow in Christ—your doubts and your difficulties, your desires and your delights. I can’t do that when I am running scared.”

“I want to be a pastor who leads you in worship, a pastor who brings you before God in receptive obedience, a pastor who preaches sermons that make scripture accessible and present and alive, a pastor who is able to give you a language and imagination that restores in you a sense of dignity as a Christian in your homes and workplaces and gets rid of these debilitating images of being a ‘mere’ layperson.”

“I want to have the time to read a story to Karen [daughter].”

“I want to be an unbusy pastor.”

That’s what I want.

4 responses to “What if Pastoring Looked Like This?”

  1. Bobby (@reformedlostboy) Avatar
    Bobby (@reformedlostboy)

    Thanks for your honesty and vulnerability in sharing your struggles as a pastor of a local church. I know there are many joys that come from being in your position but I also know that you are often burdened beyond God’s desire for you. My response to this weeks what if is a long one so I responded with a post of my own. I featured your blog on mine and invited others to join the conversation. Check it out here:

    http://bobbyauner.blogspot.com/2011/10/what-if-pastoring-looked-like-this.html

    1. patricklmitchell Avatar
      patricklmitchell

      Thanks for engaging in this with me. I commented on your suggestions. Prayers are with you and your family.

  2. Busy but Bored | Anxious to Impart Avatar
    Busy but Bored | Anxious to Impart

    […] of a Christian leader. I am speaking of Eugene Peterson (whom I’ve blogged about before and before) and Henri […]

  3. Here’s what may be sabotaging your satisfaction | Anxious to Impart Avatar
    Here’s what may be sabotaging your satisfaction | Anxious to Impart

    […] Here’s a little nugget from a pastor for pastors by a guy who’s no stranger to the blog, pastor Eugene Peterson: […]

Leave a comment